Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Calaguas is  nowhere my original  plan  , i wanted to go to CARAMOAN , but  because of schedule conflicts i had to change my route.  I ended up going with friends.

Finally im on my way to Calaguas!!!!!!

Calaguas is a group of islands but the main attraction is the Mahabang Buhangin , long sand or Long Beach. It’s a  butt- numbing drive trip.

Mahabang Buhangin Calaguas

I  found myself seated on a van bound to Daet one fine morning. I wanted to stay in Bagasbas but we arrived 4 pm so didn’t have time to  travel to my destination and surf in Bagasabas Beach. I ended at Hotel Dolor in the center of Daet  then  roamed around  town. The food was good and affordable . I’ve been eyeing to find a restaurant with Bicolandias specialties ; laing , bicol express , pinangat unfortunately to no avail.

CALAGUAS

Sunset View

I woke up 4 am , prepared for my things , payed the bills and went to meet my friends. Jump off was in Vinzons Port which is 10 mins from Daet then a 2 hours boat ride to the island.

Travel Buddies Marj and Carla Photo credits to Marj Silayan

Upon setting foot ,you could feel the powdery white sand . It is finer than the sand in Boracay. Tents and bahay kubo are scattered as no accommodations nor resorts available . A toilet is available but it’s not the kind you expect from hotels , you have to fetch water with the help of locals for 10 pesos. It’s advised to bring your own drinking water if you can’t stand deep well water.

A tent is provided , all we have to do is bumm in the beach. The organizer had a lot of activities to offer ; Culinary lesson , poi dancing , cocktail party and buffet food .. YuuMmmm.

Chef Janjie aka Lakwatserong Kusinero  together with Nano , the photographer spearheaded the trip, i bumped to  his adventures one time when i was watching Jessica Soho’s saturday episode. Chef Janjie runs his own restaurant and is employed with one of the leading Oil Company in the Philippines.

The Chef prepared meals for the trip, buffet style. There is an option for a fine dining experience only if few participants joined, you get to eat food prepared by a chef in a pristine beach island, Nice!!!! Fine dining by the beach , Great!!!! I SOOOoOOO LOVE THE FOODDD… BIG TIME!!

I was looking forward for my first POI experience . Poi refers to both a style of performance art and the equipment used for engaging in poi performance. As a performance art, poi involves swinging tethered weights through a variety of rhythmical and geometric patterns. Performers often use poi with bright, contrasting colors to enhance aesthetics and emphasize patterns. Beginners learn by using lengths of rope weighted , soft objects such as bean bags ,juggling balls, balloons filled with legumes, or small toys. It’s not easy , i thought it was but it aint. After several tries i get to spin a whole trick. YEY!!!! But im not good enough  to spin a fire POI, after couple of months maybe . hahaha!!

POI EXPERIENCE Photo Credits to Marj Silayan

Overflowing drinks  courtesy of the Blackout Mobile Bar ( sad we didnt try the 9 shots) and a show of fire dancers andpictorials.Exhausted with the POI kulitan with Marj and Carla, we agreed to sleep on the shore stargazing. It’s not my hobby peering at the sky at night but the feel of stargazing in Calaguas is different. I was amazed how the sky is filled with bright stars baring their own light. I wished i had a telescope.

My buddies were asleep and my itchy feet wanted to walk and explore . I ended up on the top of the hill overlooking the Calaguas Long beach. I had a chummy chat John and Mark  while taking pictures of the scenic view, the hill was just 10 minutes trail . Feeling empty i rushed down to get breakfast . We went directly to Bagasbas beach after camping overnight.

uphill View

Bagasbas beach is known as a surf break , Carla is so excited she immediately hit the waves right after our lunch . Marj and I were accompanied by Roi , Dennis and Louise , talking about our next visit to Legazpi City , where the famous Mt Mayon resides.

Bagasbas Beach

Amboy . Cute Boy, Bibbo kid , Me and Marj

Calaguas is a virgin island slowly being discovered . The best beach I’ve been to. The turquoise water kissing the horizon , the blue sky and the nature at its best!!! Overall , the was great  .

While writing this blog , CALAGUAS is on its peak of controversy being exploited by travel organizers. I don’t blame them , the island is slowly exploited with the occasional party night, this will eventually kill Calaguas.

I heart Calaguas , im  planning to visit Calaguas again, DIY style 🙂 on a weekday maybe , to see the island at its silence. I LOVE TO SEE CALAGUAS AT ITS FINEST !!!!  NO noise , no blinking lights, no happy hour , just an island resting waiting for me. I would love to feel the certain bliss of exploring its nature.

Related articles